A Juicy Story

By Eean Garcia

A two-day juice cleanse. Nothing but juice for a full 48 hours. Maybe a handful of plain almonds if you get desperate but otherwise, no solid food. The reason? A juice cleanse is a way to reset your digestive system while flooding it with the living enzymes, vitamins, and nutrients that your body needs, while also helping decrease sugar cravings.

So how does one juice cleanse? Well before we get into it, I would like to stress that going on a juice cleanse is an experience and not recommended as a lifestyle. Many companies and juice bars sell juice cleanses. My trial juice cleanse was from Nekter Juice Bar. You start by ordering online, where they ask if you want the classic or advanced cleanse, then the number of days you are choosing to cleanse, and the date of pickup. The price of the juice cleanses varies on the number of days you choose to do it. I did it for two days, so I ended up paying around $80. The classic cleanse for 1-2 days is recommended if you are a beginner. Your order will come with six 16.9 ounce bottles per day—meaning if you do a two day cleanse you will receive twelve bottles, and so on. These bottles are filled with blends of vegetable and fruit juices and a vanilla bean nut milk as your “dessert” drink. They are numbered from 1-6, and you drink those accordingly throughout the day. There is no real rule book to juice cleansing, so most of it is up to how you prefer to do it, but for reference, the purpose is to only be drinking the juices and water.

Juice cleansing is most effective when it is throughout the entire day, so in order to do that I woke up around 7:30 am, and started to drink the first bottle near 8 am. From there, I drank each bottle accordingly every two hours while keeping hydrated with a lot of water. The flavor of each juice varied every hour and with different flavors came different textures and colors. Getting past the appearance of the drink can be hard for some, I have a hard time with black lemonade or the chunky greens still in some of the drinks. Although the taste of most bottles was manageable.  

I feel that it is important to mention that I was skeptical that drinking juice would, in some way. benefit me. However, during the course of the cleanse, and for two days following, I noticed that I had more energy and I found myself feeling capable of doing the tasks at hand.

Overall, I did find this experience quite enjoyable, but I would again like to stress that this could not be a lifestyle for myself. At the same time, I found myself hungry because I missed the feeling of chewing my food, but the feeling was manageable to overcome.

If you would like to try a juice cleanse,  Nekter Juice Bar has them available for purchase. The closest location is in the Tustin Market Place at 2937 El Camino Real B, Tustin, CA 92782.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *