Ballon d’Or 2016

By: Daniel Camano

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Neymar da Silva Santos Júnior were the three finalist for being awarded the best player of the year for the 2014/15 professional soccer season and having the chance to win the Ballon d’Or. Ballon d’Or is an award given to the best male soccer player of the year in the professional league.  Lionel Messi has already won 4 consecutive Ballon d’Ors in the past beating the record for the most Ballon d’Ors ever won. Cristiano Ronaldo has won 3, receiving 2 consecutively. Neymar has not been lucky enough to win a Ballon d’Or throughout his career but this Monday, January 11, 2016 was the first time Neymar was named one of the three finalist for the Ballon d’Or.



The three finalist and many guests traveled to Zurich, Switzerland for the awards ceremony. At the end of the ceremony the Ballon d’Or winner was announced by former professional soccer player and previous Ballon d’Or winner Ricardo Izecson dos Santos Leite, also known as Kaka. The winner of the 2015 Ballon d’Or went to Lionel Messi. Messi had a great 2014/15 season. Despite having injuries Messi had 57 appearances, 27 assist, and a whopping 58 goals throughout all competitions in the 2014/15 season. Lionel Messi ended the night with a great speech, “Good evening again. It’s a very special moment for me to be back here on this stage winning another Ballon d’Or after being there in the audience watching Cristiano win for 2 years. It’s incredible that it’s my 5th. It’s much more than I’ve ever dreamed of as a kid. I want to thank all those who voted for me, first of all. I also want to thank aviously my teammates, as I always say without them none of this would have ever been possible. And lastly I would like to thank football in general, for everything that it has brought me both the bad and the good because it’s made me grow and learn always. That’s all have a good evening and thank you for everything.”

Messi has won his 5th Ballon d’Or, but will he be able to win a 6th? Or will Ronaldo, Neymar or possibly someone else beat him in the race next year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *