What if?

By: Anastasia Earles

What if I fail and don’t succeed?

What if my future doesn’t take heed?

What if I fall beneath my foes?

What if I can’t live up to the person God chose?

 

What if I fall beneath six feet?

What if I declare my defeat?

What if I can never rise?

What if this fire inside me dies?

 

So if these possibilities are true,

I’m not being me, I’m being who?

This person doesn’t exist in me,

because I am me, that’s what I see.

 

It is also what I know,

I’ll slash through lies to let it show,

because I cannot conquer an empire,

with ashes as my roaring fire.

 

what if, oh, stupid words,

entrancing thoughts to the mind of birds,

life’s a criminal, full of lies,

cold and bitter until it dies.

 

Accepting makes it better,

but it’s still cold so put on a sweater,

warm yourself with the beauty alive,

makes it worthy to survive.

 

What if I do succeed?

What if my future takes heed?

What if I stand above my foes?

What if I’m the person God chose?

 

What if I’m above seven feet?

What if I do rise?

What if this fire inside never dies?

 

That’s how I know I’m me,

the leader I see, the victorious to decree,

But I don’t own this glory to me,

I owe it all to Thee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *