“If I Stay” Movie Review

If_I_Stay_poster

By Maciel Bustos

Rating: PG-13 (for thematic elements and some sexual material)

Genre: Drama

Directed By: R.J. Cutler

Written By: Shauna Cross

In Theaters: Aug 22, 2014 Wide

On DVD: Nov 18, 2014

Box Office: $50.5M

Runtime: 1 hr. 46 min.

“If I Stay” is about a musical prodigy named Mia who must decide whether to live or die. It starts with her family driving to a friend’s house when suddenly the unexpected happens. What was supposed to be a happy, fun drive turned into a disastrous car accident. Mia then awakens to find herself looking at her own lifeless body. The movie shows her journey in life up to the present; during the movie, it switches scenes from what is currently happening to what happened in the past to show what she remembers as a way to help her decide. Chloë Grace Moretz portrays Mia Hall in “If I Stay.” Her performance was absolutely magnificent. The way her emotions poured out really affected me as well.

Overall the movie was absolutely stunning. I highly recommend “If I stay.” Also if you like the movie, read the book and get even more details about the story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *